White Chocolate Cheesecake with Blueberry Glaze

Having read Things my Belly likes blog post on Blueberry Coffee Bundt Cake , and Bowl of Recipes post on Blueberry muffins, I thought, let me take my blueberries out of my morning yogurt and put them in a dessert.  I am a huge fan of cheesecake, but it’s something I rarely make.  And honestly, I have no idea why, because it is really simple, and always, always delicious.  I love that it is so versatile, and you can really make it your own.

So, I went to my fridge and decided to put my gorgeous berries to good use.  I thought pairing them with white chocolate would be awesome, and I also added a little lemon zest to the filling, to make it fresher and taste less rich.  See I love cheesecakes, but I find that most of them that you get in the states, specifically in Cheesecake Factory, turn out to be a bomb in your stomach.  They are tasty, but jeez….you have one bite and you’re full!  I didn’t want that with my cheesecake.

For the crust, I used amarettini cookies, since you simply cannot find graham crackers here.  And because I am slightly obsessed with amarettini cookies. 

The final result:  Crazy good.  The tartness of the blueberries was perfect with the mellow white chocolate, and then you get that fabulous citrusy taste in every bite.  Then, your crunchy amarettini cookies.  Perfect!  I had some for breakfast.  Just now. While typing this.  Couldn’t help myself.

So here’s what you’re going to need:

For the crust-

2 cups crushed amarettini cookies (but if you don’t have use whatever tickles your fancy!)

7 tbsp unsalted butter, melted

For the filling-

750 g cream cheese, softened

250 g white chocolate, melted

2 tbsp flour

pinch of salt

1/2 cup sugar

1 tbsp vanilla extract

4 eggs, room temperature

For the glaze-

1/2 cup blueberry jam

1 tbsp water

2 cups blueberries

Pre heat your oven to 200 C.  Crush the cookie crumbs, and add the melted sugar.  Press into a spring form pan, and up the sides.  Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes, or until they are golden and darkened a bit, and remove from the oven and let cool on a wire rack.  Lower the oven to 180 C.

Meanwhile, make the filling.  In a stand up mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, add the cream cheese, melted chocolate, salt and flour beat on medium speed until fluffy, about 5 minutes, making sure it is really smooth.  Add the sugar and continue beating until well mixed.  Then add the vanilla, blend, and add the eggs, one at a time, mixing on low-speed until just incorporated.  Pour the filling into the crumbs and bake for 45-55 minutes.  It should be ready when it is hard to the touch, but just a little jiggly in the center.  Take out of the oven, and let cool completely.

Make the glaze.  In a small saucepan, add the jam and water, and cook until melted and liquidy.  Take off heat and add the blueberries.  Mix well, and smooth over the top of the cheesecake.  Refrigerate overnight before serving.  You can have ONE slice if you really need too.  Like I did.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

15 comments on “White Chocolate Cheesecake with Blueberry Glaze

  1. Amaretti are a favourite and cheesecake and blueberries a double winner! I’m glad someone is posting some tasty desserts, I’m craving something sweet right now! Hope you’re enjoying the week. 🙂

    • expatchef says:

      Thanks Alice….it was a long time since I posted a dessert….I guess I don’t make too many since I end up eating most of it…..You should make it….so good. I have to stop myself from poking at it in the fridge!

  2. I want some for breakfast too…and every meal! Looks heavenly

  3. Colovibes says:

    Que espectacular que se ve!!No sabes las ganas con que me has dejado!!! Que ricoooo!!!

  4. andylmoore says:

    oh man, this looks yum. I’ve got friends coming over next weekend for a bbq and I reckon this will be a crowd pleaser at the end of the day.

  5. mydearbakes says:

    You make very gorgeous bakes, lovely! =)

  6. andrewsmile says:

    Wow! Looks amazingly delicious! I think i’ll try to make some this weekend!

  7. andylmoore says:

    Ok I’ve clipped your beet gnocchi and this recipe into my food notebook, so I don’t lose them. Going to do the cheesecake this weekend.

Leave a Reply

