Zucchini Blossoms Stuffed with Ricotta, Bufala Mozarella, Pancetta and Pine Nuts

From my jobs last week, to whirlwind tour guide this week, I haven’t had a moment’s time to sit down and post a recipe until now, so sorry my friends.  You see, my aunt, uncle and their friend are here visiting for the first time, and I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to show them around my beautiful city.  We’ve been traipsing through the Gothic Quarter, frolicking in Gaudi’s Park Guell, feasting on Paella by the azure Mediterranean, and last night sipping Margarita’s while watching the Spain vs. Portugal match!  But two nights ago they came to my house for dinner, and that same afternoon I had taken them to the Boqueria Market and had spotted some amazing Zucchini Blossoms.

I knew immediately I wanted to make something with them, stuff them actually, but I figured I would just play it by ear with what I had at home.  I decided I would stuff them with ricotta, mozzarella, the gorgeous pancetta that I had brought back from Italy and some pine nuts.  I also chopped the baby zucchini into tiny little pieces and mixed it all up.

It was DELICIOUS.  Like, mouth-watering, crazy insane delicious.  I only bought 7 blossoms.  Now I wish I had gotten 20.  I could have just had that for dinner!

This is a surprisingly easy preparation, that will be heavenly for dinner, lunch or canapes.  So, I hope you all try this soon, before these delicate blossoms are out of season again.

 

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Serves 4

8 zucchini blossoms

4 baby zucchini (the ones that come attached), finely chopped

1/4 cup pancetta, sliced thick and diced

2 tbsp pine nuts

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup ricotta cheese

1 bufala mozzarella, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

3 tbsp flour

1 egg

1 tbsp cold water

Slice off the zucchini blossoms, retaining a little bit of the zucchini at the base.  Carefully open the flower and remove the pistil.

In a small frying pan over medium heat, sauté the pancetta and zucchini until crisp.  Add the pine nuts and sauté for another 3 to 4 minutes.

Reserve in a bowl, and mix well with the ricotta and mozzarella.  Add salt and pepper.

In another large frying pan, heat the olive oil.  Meanwhile, place your cheese mixture in a pastry bag.

Stuff the blossoms with the cheese mixture, and then twist the ends of the petals to close.  Don’t twist too tight, they are quite delicate.  In another bowl mix the flour, egg and water.

Dip your blossoms in the batter and fry, about 1 minute each side.

Serve hot.

 

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

