Tagliatelle pasta with Pancetta Romana, Zucchini and Pistachios

Obviously I got back from Italy yesterday…..and I felt like a kid at Christmas who can’t wait to unwrap their presents.  I did.  I ate some of the salami, the appenzeller cheese…..and last night absolutely had to try the pancetta.  I was *this* close to not buying it, but the vendor absolutely insisted I had to try it.  Ok, no he didn’t, he just said, do you want some pancetta too? (I was buying guanciale) And I was like….Yes please!

Actually, the dish came up as follows.  I arrive home, having left the fridge fully stocked for my boyfriend and my daughter, full of healthy veggies, cheese, eggs, yogurt, and some cake too.  When I opened up the fridge, the cheese and cake were almost finished.  The veggies untouched.  So, I thought, I need to make something with this zucchini.  So, I decided, tagliatelle, zucchini and pancetta.  Went to the store to get some fizzy water, and passed by the pistachios, and remembered how in Sicily, we used to eat the Pistachio pesto with pancetta.  Voila!  A star is born.  I think this is my new favorite pasta dish.  And I am urging my friend Miki and her boyfriend R to try this.  Because I think they will be as excited about this dish as I was last night.  I actually want some more today.  But although I tend to be obsessive about things, the rest of my household isn’t like that.

So, here’s what you’re going to need:

Serves 4

500g Tagliatelle

1 zucchini, sliced into thin ribbons

250 g pancetta, cut into thick match sticks

3 tbsp olive oil, more if the pasta is too dry

100 g pistachios, shelled and crushed.

Pepper to taste.

Parmesan cheese

Boil your water for the pasta.  In the meantime, in a large skillet fry up your bacon over medium heat with the olive oil.  When it is starting to brown, add the zucchini ribbons.  Saute for another 5 minutes, until softened but not mushy.  Add the pistachios and the rest of the olive oil.  Turn off heat.

When the pasta is done, drain it and toss it quickly with your pancetta mix, serve immediately with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

And you’re done!  So easy, so good.  You’ll want more I bet.  I did.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

Leave a Reply

