Grilled Three Cheese, Coppa and Sundried Tomato Sandwich

Sunday nights are our relax nights.  I generally don’t like to make a huge fuss in the kitchen because after a week’s worth of cooking for work, and then a dinner party or two….I don’t feel like cleaning again and again.  Grilled cheese is our go to sandwich.  My daughter loves cheese (like her mom) and my boyfriend does too.  Tonight we decided to go the Italian route since my boyfriend is Italian too.

I love coppa, or what you might know as cappocollo….which basically means top of the neck.  That is the area of the pig from wich Coppa is made from.  It is so incredibly tasty, stronger than prosciutto, but not as strong as our Jamon Iberico.  And sun dried tomatoes….well, I have an unhealthy obsession with them.  I became obsessed with them when I went to Sicily 10 years ago, and I think the Sicilian sun dried tomatoes are the best.

This is an incredibly decadent grilled cheese because of the addition of three cheeses.  I chose Scamorza, which is a smoked, hard mozzarella, Welsh Cheddar and Emmenthal, or what we know as Swiss Cheese.  The Emmenthal helps to mellow the sharpness of the cheddar and smokiness of the scamorza.  Feel free to use your favorite cheeses, and don’t stop at three, I only did because that is all I had.

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Serves 3

6 slices bread

2 cups grated Emmenthal, Scamorza and Cheddar

100g coppa

6 sundried tomatoes, chopped

2 tbsp butter, softened

Start heating up your grill or skillet

Butter all sides of your bread, and top with the coppa, sundried tomatoes and your shredded cheese.

Place on your hot grill and press down with a large spatula for about 2 minutes.  Flip and cook, pressing down, for another 2-3 minutes.  Serve immediately.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

Leave a Reply

