Cabbage Gratin

Cabbage Gratin

Poor cabbage.  It always gets relegated to some type of sauerkraut or slaw.  I personally adore cabbage.  And since you can’t just buy a bit, and using up the whole head when the recipe calls for a cup or so, you are left with that soccer ball in your fridge, begging to be used every time you open it up.

I wanted something different to what I am used to preparing with cabbage.  I didn’t want to make a salad, or a soup.  I wanted to see if it could be used in a side dish that wasn’t just braised with apples!  So, I picked up a really great cookbook of mine, called “Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone”  by Deborah Madison.  It’s a hefty tome, with 720 + pages of recipes.  It really is a bible for all things veggie!

Cabbage gratin

So, to my delight, there were quite a few recipes for cabbage that are completely new to me.  I found this one to be really interesting.  But, I decided to change it up a bit, one because I want to lose a few pounds before I go to my best friends’ wedding this January.  And two, because now when I read a recipe, I can judge if it needs a little extra umph to it.

cabbage gratin

So, instead of using cream in the original version, I swapped it for some greek yogurt.  And then I added some ground chipotle powder, which is my new favorite spice.  It adds a smokiness that you can’t get from any other spice, and the perfect amount of heat.  So, for all of you that are watching their weight, I did the math, and a serving of this is a whopping 150 calories!!!  I was so pleased that something that tastes really decadent can be eaten guilt-free. I also topped it with a teeny bit of grated Gruyère cheese as soon as it came out of the oven.  It is super simple to make, so the prep time is minimal, and all you have to do is wait about an hour for it to come out of the oven, and voilà!  You’ve got a delicious, healthy and low-calorie side dish!

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Adapted from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone by Deborah Madison

Low- Calorie version:

Olive oil spray and freshly grated Parmesan for the baking dish

1 1/2 lbs of green or savoy cabbage, diced into 2 inch squares

1/3 cup flour

1 cup skim milk

1/4 cup greek yogurt

2 tbsp tomato paste

3 eggs

3 tbsp finely chopped parsley or dill

2 tsp chipotle powder or spicy paprika

Salt and freshly milled white pepper

3 tbsp grated Gruyère cheese

Preheat the oven to 375 F (190 C).  Spray the gratin dish with the olive oil and coat with the parmesan cheese.  Boil the cabbage, uncovered, in salted water for 5 minutes, then drain.  Rinse, then press out as much water as possible.  Whisk the remaining ingredients until smooth, add the cabbage, and pour the mixture into the dish.  Bake until firm and lightly browned, about 50 minutes.  Top with the Gruyère when it comes out of the oven.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

8 comments on “Cabbage Gratin

  1. I too adore cabbage! Funnily enough I did an internet supermarket order so that we have food when we get back to the UK in a few days and I ordered a Savoy Cabbage. Now I know what I´m going to do with it :)

  2. sybaritica says:

    I used to have a similar ‘diet’ standby with shredded cabbage stirred up with just a few tablespoons of meatless spahetti sauce and then baked with a bit of grated parmesan… not bad on the whole :)

  3. Such a terrific way to eat cabbage. No doubt if you fed this healthier version to someone they’d have no idea of the tweaking to get this recipe ‘just so’ on the side of healthier got you! The pics are lovely too, it all looks so wholesome :)

    • expatchef says:

      Thanks Alice, it definitely felt like I was eating something that was much much guiltier! I loved it. And I think it was wholesome too….good for the soul, total complete package!

  4. I am not a fan of cabbage but in this dish, I could devour it all :D

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

Leave a Reply

