Parmesan Zucchini Loaf

WARNING!!!!  THIS BREAD IS HIGHLY ADDICTIVE.  I hadn’t made this bread in years.  It’s a really old recipe a friend of my mother’s passed on to me, I remember way way way before I even thought of going to culinary school, I had tried this one Thanksgiving, and I became wholly enamoured with it.  So I picked up my very old and tattered recipe book and decided to make it again, to see if it still stood the test of time, you know, how sometimes you try something when you’re young and then you try it again and you think to yourself, what is the big deal?  Well, I made it the other day, because of my surplus of Zucchini’s, and it’s gone, daddy gone.

It’s such a simple recipe, fool-proof even.  Just the smell emanating from the oven will start to make your tummy rumble, my daughter even asked me if I was making pizza.  Then, you have to wait 10 torturous minutes before you cut into it……the agony!  But once you have one slice, you want another, and another and another.  This is a quick bread, and a very eggy loaf.  But the combination of the parmesan and the zucchini….wow.

So, here’s what you’re going to need:

2 small zucchini or 1 large, cubed

1 cup Bisquick or 1 cup regular flour + 2 tsp baking powder

5 eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 tsp garlic salt

In a large bowl mix the bisquick, eggs and oil.  Add the parmesan, zucchini and garlic salt.  Coat a bread tin with butter, and add the dough.  Bake in a 190 C oven for about 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean and it’s golden on top.  Check it mid-way through the baking process though, remember my oven sucks.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

One comment on “Parmesan Zucchini Loaf

  1. This looks great and I am sure it tastes even better! Thank you for stopping by my blog. I will be back to see what you are up too, as well.

Leave a Reply

