Zucchini, Onion and Goat Cheese Frittata

FritattaBack home.  And my kitchen is empty.  Having a friend over for lunch.  Eeeeeeek!  What to do?  Well, for me, a Frittata is probably one of the easiest, sexiest and filling things to make in a pinch.

Frittata is the Italian version of Tortilla.  Yet, the preparation is slightly different, and hell of a lot easier!  It’s basically cook it in the pan, then finish it in the oven.  It’s a cinch.  You get your proteins, your veg, your healthy fats and it’s so versatile.  Don’t like zucchini?  Use eggplant.  Don’t have eggplant?  Well, throw in some mushrooms.  You get the gist.  I love using cheese with eggs, so I just ran downstairs to my local grocer and picked up some goat cheese.  Yummy, light, pairs perfectly with almost anything.  Also, if you feel like just having the Frittata isn’t enough, well make a nice side salad with a Dijon vinaigrette….and it is perfect.

So what are you waiting for?

Here’s what you’re gonna need:

8 eggs, beaten

1 small onion, sliced thinly

1 zucchini, cut in half and sliced

2 tbsp olive oil

Salt and Pepper to taste

Goat Cheese, use as much or as little as you like

Pre-heat oven to 200 C.  In a large sauté pan, add the olive oil over medium high heat.  Cook the onions and zucchini until tender, about 10 minutes, stirring often so they won’t burn or stick.  Add your salt.

Add the eggs, and swirl pan to coat.  With a wooden spoon, mix the eggs as if you’re scrambling, to cook the bottom a bit, like I explained in my Tortilla post.   Lower heat, and let cook for about 6-7 minutes.  Add the goat cheese and pepper on the top,then pop it in the oven so the top will set, about 7 more minutes.

Plate, serve and enjoy!

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

6 comments on “Zucchini, Onion and Goat Cheese Frittata

  1. Today I ate a zucchini & paprika frittata..yummy. Never tried your version but will do so as it sounds pretty yummy! Thanks for sharing :)

    • expatchef says:

      Thank you! Zucchini and paprika, that sounds pretty amazing too! Will have to try that out. Now I’m off to have a leftover piece of the frittata! Thanks for visiting!

  2. Hi Carla, welcome back! Fritatta’s are the best thing and certainly a wonderful, light, luncheon that would be welcome by many. No doubt your friend was looking forward to hearing of all your travel adventures, I’m sure it was all very exciting too :) second day into the move today (yippee) today I get to finally unpack my kitchen!

    • expatchef says:

      Oh my….did you get a response? I just typed out like a million words and I think it cancelled it…anyway, to resume, I think it’s great you’re unpacking the kitchen, and can’t wait until your next post. And yes, lunch was a definite catch up on things that happened whilst away! Post pictures of the new kitchen please!

  3. Jessica says:

    Yum! I needed something to do with my leftover eggs this week, this looks great.

Leave a Reply

