Shorty’s Bbq…..a Miami legend

Shorty's BBQ

 

Ever since I can remember, when I lived here, my family would reunite with my aunt and uncle and we would go to Shorty’s for some ribs.  And honestly, nothing has really changed.  Every time I visit Miami, it is the one stop that we always, always go to.  Especially since my boyfriend Paolo has become such an assiduous fan!

Shorty’s has changed little since I was a kid.  I think the one thing that’s changed is that it is not constructed all out of wood since the fire in 1972 completely burned it down!

Shorty's bbq fire

One of the things that I love most, is that their menu is almost exactly the same as I remember it,  except for some new additions as of the last year.   It is refreshingly the same, picnic style seating, wood tables, and all sorts of Americana to be found along the walls and tables.

 

Shorty's BBQ

Shorty's BBQ

Shorty's BBQ

Obviously though, the star of the show are the ribs.  Oh man.  Fall off the bone, slow cooked baby back ribs.  And the corn on the cob.  I’m not sure which one I like better.  As I said, the menu hasn’t changed in years, but why mess with perfection?  There is Baby back pork ribs, Beef Spare ribs, Chicken, Pulled pork sandwiches, Brisket, and a few new additions that I hardly paid any attention to.  Their cole slaw is always delicious, chock full of celery salt, giving it a bite amidst the creaminess.  But the ribs and corn.  Oh oh oh.  The corn on the cob is always sweet, perfectly cooked.

Shorty's BBQI have professed my love for corn before.  So you can imagine how happy and excited I get to have this delicious cob, drenched with butter, all to myself.  I have to pace myself to eat it…..I mean, halfway through, I always think….should I order another one?  (Yes, that is my inner Miss Piggy talking.)  But then I think I need to save room for my ribs!

Shorty's BBQ

These ribs are perfection on a plate.  They are so flavorful, completely fall off the bone, and I drench them in Shorty’s home-made spicy barbecue sauce, which is less sweet, more tangy.  Delicious.  The fries are great, but I rather concentrate on that pork goodness.  It’s something that you really can’t get in Spain.  At least, not as amazing as this.  A couple of years ago, I heard that Shorty’s employees have to sign a confidentiality agreement on how the ribs and corn are cooked.  And if it is true, they are right to do so.  They are THAT GOOD.

I also get the bbq baked beans.  I love beans.  In all ways.  And these are a perfect accompaniment, along with the cole slaw I mentioned before!

So, if you live in Miami, or are here for a visit, you need to make your way to Shorty’s!  Open since 1951, I hope they never change!

Carla

http://www.shortys.com

3 comments on “Shorty’s Bbq…..a Miami legend

  1. ileana says:

    I’m from Miami, too, but I don’t think I’ve been to Shorty’s. I’ll have to check out the one on Bird Road some time when I’m visiting home.

  2. Damn now I want corn on the cob….and bbq beans…and pizza. Your blog is dangerous! :)

Leave a Reply

