Rosemary Roasted Pork Loin stuffed with Spinach, Mushrooms and Ricotta

When I was in college, I remember we had a friend over for dinner, well actually, he made dinner.  He said he was a professional chef, and he made something similar to this.  I remember thinking it was one of the most sophisticated things anyone my age had ever made for me.  And back then, I thought it was so complicated!  I was very, very impressed.  So, recently I purchased this gorgeous piece of pork loin that comes from Spanish Black Pigs, which apparently are juicier and tastier than their pink counterparts.
It definitely didn’t disappoint.  I decided to use some of my beautiful rosemary growing on my little balcony, and to stuff it with portobello mushrooms, spinach and ricotta.  It was divine, and super moist and delicious.  Easy too!

The hardest part is butterflying the loin, but I will add a link with detailed instructions!

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Serves 6

1 kg pork loin

3 sprigs of Rosemary

3 tbsp butter, softened

3 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves of garlic, sliced

400 g frozen chopped spinach, defrosted and strained of all the water

100 g portobello mushrooms, finely diced

1 small package of ricotta cheese

Salt and Pepper to Taste

Preheat the oven to 190 C.  Meanwhile, in a large sauté pan, add the olive oil and the garlic, cook over medium heat until fragrant.  Add the spinach and mushrooms and raise the heat and cook until the mushrooms are softened, about 5 minutes.  Take off heat and mix with the ricotta, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

Now, butterfly your pork loin.  You can see the technique here.    Salt and pepper the loin, and spread a thin layer of the spinach mixture.  Don’t worry if you have left over, you can keep this in the fridge and re-use it for empanadas, lasagna, cannelloni etc.

Now tie your loin, and place in a baking dish fatty side up.  Rub generously with the butter, sprinkle on the salt, pepper and the rosemary.  Cook for about 20 minutes, or until the internal temperature reaches 145 F.  It will continue to cook when you take it out of the oven, so it will reach 150 F.

Let rest 15 minutes before slicing.  Enjoy!

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

3 comments on “Rosemary Roasted Pork Loin stuffed with Spinach, Mushrooms and Ricotta

  1. These flavours marry so well together. I rarely eat a rolled pork loin. So often at home it’s pork chops, pork belly but rarely do I (do anything more) than salt & pepper and (Asian) style sauce for the belly. I need to try more variations ;)

  2. andylmoore says:

    Might try this for Sunday dinner. I have loads of rosemary and spinach in the garden.

Leave a Reply

