Buckwheat Crepes with Smoked Salmon, Onions, Dill Cream and Crispy Capers

After I saw Girl in a Food Frenzy’s post on Crepes, I knew I had to make some.  I love Crepes.  I love them sweet, but I especially love them savoury.  What makes me love them even more, is their versatility.  And buckwheat?  Well, I love that too.  Yes, I am in a loving mood.

I don’t really know why I don’t make them more often, they are one of my daughter’s favorite things, and once you make all your Crepes, they keep really well in the fridge and you can re-heat them in a cinch.  I think I am going to have some for lunch, with cheese, sautéed onions and mushrooms.  And I have more ideas up my sleeve, but that is for another post folks!

So here’s what you’re going to need:

6 Crepes, Recipe (Courtesy of Girl in a Food Frenzy)

300 g Good quality smoked salmon

1 medium red onion, sliced

1 cup light cream

1 bunch dill, chopped

2 tbsp capers, drained

2-3 tbsp olive oil

Fresh Ground Pepper

Make the crepes, set aside.

In a small bowl, place the sliced onions and a teaspoon of salt.  Start “massaging” the onions with the salt until they start to sweat and soften.  Set aside.

Heat the cream with the dill, and add some fresh pepper.  Set aside.

In a small sauté pan, heat about 2 tbsp of oil, fry the capers until they start to pop and crisp up.  Make sure you are far away from the pan, because when they pop, you could burn yourself with the oil.  Strain, and set the capers aside.

When you are ready to serve, in a large non-stick frying pan, re-heat the crepes.   While they are still in the pan, add a little bit of the onions, and add a couple of slices of the smoked salmon.  Fold the crepe and place on a plate, drizzle with the dill cream, and top with the crispy capers.  Repeat with all the crepes.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

 

4 comments on “Buckwheat Crepes with Smoked Salmon, Onions, Dill Cream and Crispy Capers

  1. Wow Carla! I can’t believe I missed this post, your crêpes look so spectacular and I love that you’ve put the recipe to good use. I’m very honoured that you want to share this recipe with your fellow bloggers & readers! I love the look of these, trumps a plain crêpe anyday :)

    • expatchef says:

      Aww, thank you and you’re so welcome! I did, yesterday I had the remaining crepes with cheese, spinach and raisins….delishhhhhhhhhh! I am going to make some again soon…..but the plain version….will post on that too, I had an idea! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. andylmoore says:

    Crikey missed this one. It looks amazing. I think this is something my kids might like too. My eldest goes nuts for smoked salmon.

Leave a Reply

