Raspberry Banana Breakfast Muffins

I love bananas.  I really do.  But somehow, always, there are two left over from the bunch that I buy that go overly ripe.  And then I don’t want to eat them raw anymore.  But you know what?  That suits me fine.  I always end up putting them to good use.
Saturday morning, I was flipping through my Williams Sonoma Breakfast and Brunch cookbook, and came across this great recipe for Raspberry Lemon Muffins.  And I figured, I could sneak the bananas in there as well.  They turned out wonderful.  The bananas make these muffins really soft and luscious, and I was able to cut out a heap of sugar from the original recipe.  I am only hoping they last more than two days.  We’ve already eaten 4.  I made them last night.  *Sigh*.  So much for the diet!

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Adapted from William Sonoma’s “Essentials of Breakfast and Brunch”

2 cups all purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 large eggs

1 cup whole milk

2/3 cup canola or corn oil

2 very ripe bananas, mashed

2/3 cup brown sugar (as opposed to 1 1/3 cup)

2 tsp grated lemon juice

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp almond extract

1 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

Position a rack in the middle of the oven, and preheat to 375 F (190 C).  Line 12 standard muffin pan with paper liners.

In a bowl, stir together flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.  Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand up mixer, whisk together the eggs and milk until blended.  Ad the oil, brown sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, vanilla and almond extract and whisk until just blended.  Add the bananas, and blend well.  Add the dry ingredients and stir with a rubber spatula until just moistened.  Do not overmix.  Fold in the berries.

Spoon the batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each to within 1/4 inch of the rim.  Bake until toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, about 25 minutes if using fresh raspberries, or 25-30 minutes if using frozen raspberries.  Transfer to a rack and let cool in pan for 15 minutes, then turn out onto the rack.  Serve warm or at room temperature.  Store in airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.

Makes 12 muffins

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

6 comments on “Raspberry Banana Breakfast Muffins

  1. Beautiful – I love banana bread so i know I´ll enjoy these!

  2. All I need now is a bit of brunch, quiet time and mid day telly! Me and those muffins would be quite content!

Leave a Reply

