Shrimp with Lemon Caper Sauce

A couple of days ago, I realized, it has been a loooong time since I ate some shrimp.  And Spain has a plethora of amazing shrimp, in all sizes.  From tiny little ones, to ridiculously enormous ones.  I actually decided to go middle of the road with this recipe, because I wanted it to be a main, and frankly, not so expensive.

This dish takes a little bit of preparation, only that I made a quick vegetable broth, and peeling shrimp is just so damn laborious.  But, you can manage this under 45 minutes, I promise.

I left the heads intact, just peeling off the body segments.  I like this because the heads impart loads of flavor to the sauce, making it less lemony and more briny.  And you have to make sure to have lots of crusty bread on hand….this sauce is made for sopping up!

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Serves 3

15 fresh shrimp, heads on

2 cloves garlic, minced

8 tbsp butter

2 tbsp olive oil

1 celery, chopped

1 carrot , chopped

1 onion or leek, chopped

2 cup water

2 lemons, juiced

1 tbsp capers, drained

1/2 cup white wine

1 tbsp parsley, finely chopped

Salt and Pepper to taste

In a large skillet, add 4 tbsp of the butter, 2 tbsp of olive oil and garlic.  Saute over medium heat until just fragrant, about 5 minutes.  Add the celery, carrot and onion.  Saute another 5 minutes, or until just softened.  Add the water, and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and let simmer until the water is almost evaporated, about 10-15 minutes.

Meanwhile, peel your shrimp, leaving the heads and tails intact.  If you feel the need, you can devein as well.  In Spain they don’t, so I have gotten used to it.  But I know it’s a moot point for some of you.  When the stock is sufficiently reduced, strain it into a bowl, discard the veggies, and return the liquid to the skillet.  Add the remaining 4 tbsp of butter, lemon juice and capers.

Stir, and add the shrimp, and raise the heat to high.  Now add the wine and salt, and let reduce for 3-4 minutes.  Cook until the shrimp are just turning pink and curling up.  Turn off heat and add the parsley and pepper.

I served it over fresh spinach leaves, but you can serve it over rocket, or watercress…..either way, it will taste divine!

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

6 comments on “Shrimp with Lemon Caper Sauce

  1. Hi Carla.

    I love seafood and (prawns) as we call them are a definite flavour. I know the Spanish take their seafood so seriously and I’m sure this recipe and the gorgeous flavours do it much justice.

    Crusty bread should be a national dish as far as I’m concerned too :)

    • expatchef says:

      Thanks Alice! It was really nice leaving the heads on, it just gave it that extra push to deliciousness! And yes….HOT crusty bread, a world apart.

  2. deuxchicago says:

    This sounds insanely good! You must have read our minds – my sister and I were chatting saying, “doesn’t shrimp with some kind of butter and garlic sauce sound soo good?” :) Thanks for sharing – when it cools down enough here to want to cook anything, this is definitely on my list! -L

  3. I love shrimp (although in their raw form they freak me out) and this looks delish – amazing pics!

Leave a Reply

