Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon and Spring Onions

A couple of days ago, someone was talking about eggs, and that was it.  I needed to have eggs for dinner.  I remember as a child I would sometimes have eggs for dinner, with chopped up ham, or even chopped up hot dog.  But as an adult, I crave something a little more sophisticated with my eggs.  So, smoked salmon and spring onion it was.

Simple, sophisticated, comforting.  It was just what I needed, and it took about 5 minutes to make.  Now ain’t that grand?

Obviously a dinner this simple has to have the best quality ingredients.  You really can’t hide any of them under a sauce or anything, so I got some fresh free range organic eggs and spring onions.

Also the best quality smoked salmon I could find, and chopped it up.

Isn’t my chopping board cute?  I have specific chopping boards for all my food.

And obviously, a great loaf of crusty bread……yum.  What a great dinner.

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Serves 2

6 eggs

2 spring onions, light and white parts only, minced

2 tbsp of butter

1/4 cup smoked salmon

Salt and Fresh ground pepper to taste

In a large non-stick frying pan, add one tablespoon of butter, melt over medium heat.  Add the spring onions and cook, until tender, about 5-6 minutes.  In the mean time, crack you eggs in a bowl, whisk until scrambled, and add the salt and pepper.  When the onions are tender, add the egg and lower the heat.  With a wooden spoon, start to curdle your eggs, adding the rest of the table-spoon of butter chopped into pieces.  When the egg is cooked but still a bit wet (I like mine creamy), switch off the heat and add the smoked salmon.

Serve immediately.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

2 comments on “Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon and Spring Onions

  1. Eggs are one of nature’s super foods! Not only tasty, economical but so versatile. Eggs and truffle oil, my hands down favourite!

Leave a Reply

