The British Are Coming! The British Are Coming! : Bubble and Squeak

Continuing with British Week, since it is the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee!  I love the practicality of British food.  It amazes me that from one lunch, as we had on Sunday, I have almost a week’s worth of food just from the left over’s!!!

Yesterday I made Bubble and Squeak.  This is a hearty, belly filling dish using up the rest of your mashed potatoes and vegetables from the roast.  On Sunday I made roast chicken, roast vegetables, mashed potato and yorkshire pudding.  The pud’s were the first to go.  But as always, I have chicken, mash and veggies left over.

Bubble and Squeak to the rescue!  All you have to do is mix your veggies with the mash, place it into a frying pan and form into a sort of juiced up hash-brown.  Basically the name of this dish is because of the sounds of the “potato patty” as it cooks, and since your veggies will let out a little water as they cook, the whole thing will bubble as well.

Since I didn’t put the chicken into it, because today I am making a Chicken, Mushroom and Tarragon Pie, I decided to fry up a couple of farm fresh eggs to go on top.  Then just, portion it up, place your fried egg on top, and heat up and pour on some of your leftover gravy….and you are good to go!

It’s so ridiculously easy, and tasty.  You can even do this with your Thanksgiving left overs, since the day after I am so keen on the leftovers, but then I kind of get tired of them.  I think this will be a great answer to not end up throwing them all away in despair (and utter disappointment, since I hate throwing away food).

Mind you, the picture isn’t great, just because it is sort of a lump on the plate covered with gravy and egg.  But trust me, your taste buds will thank you.  And it’s so darn quick to make, you don’t even have to think about it and you have a full, balanced meal on the table.  Of course, this isn’t health food.  But I don’t eat like this every day, and you only live once! ;)

So, just to give you a couple of steps:

Mix your left over vegetables with your mashed potatoes.

Place a little oil or butter into a non-stick frying pan, over high heat.

Put your mash and veggies into the pan, and form into a large patty.

Cook for about 5-7 minutes, and then place a large plate over the pan, flip over, and slide the patty back into the pan and cook another 5-7 minutes until nicely browned.

In the mean time, fry up a couple of eggs in another pan.

Serve your bubble and squeak topped with the fried egg and your re-heated gravy.

Enjoy!

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

One comment on “The British Are Coming! The British Are Coming! : Bubble and Squeak

  1. Paolo says:

    So want to try this one!!!!

Leave a Reply

