The British Are Coming! The British Are Coming! Yorkshire Pudding

This week I have decided to do British Week.  I absolutely love all British food.  And my love affair began when I was 8 years old.

When I was 8, we moved to the Bahamas.  I was suddenly surrounded by many different foods and customs, especially British ones.  Considering that the Island is part of the Commonwealth, there were and still are many, many British Expats.

The first time I tried Yorkshire Pudding we were having a dinner at my headmaster’s house.  He did a typical Sunday Roast, which generally consists of either Roast Beef or Roast Chicken, vegetables, potatoes and yorkshire pudding.

I had no idea what it was, the name is obviously misleading because to me, a pudding was something sweet that you made out of a box labeled Jell-O.  Then out came the yorkshire pudding.  HOLY SWEET MOTHER OF GOD.  I couldn’t believe my taste buds!!!  What is this?  Bread?  No, it’s lighter and tastier than bread.  Baked pudding?  No, it’s more consistent than that.  I couldn’t make heads or tails of it, but I just knew I had to have more.  Unfortunately, I didn’t for many, many years, since my parents are about as British as I am feline.  So when I started cooking, I set out to find the recipe for Yorkshire Pudding.  But you see, back then there was no internet, and finding a recipe for something so authentically British in Latin America heavy Miami was quite difficult.  A couple of years later I made some friends from London, and they came to Miami to stay with me for a week.  Wooooo hooooo!  I pried every recipe that I could remember from my days in the Bahamas.  Yorkshire Pudding?  Check.  Bread and Butter Pudding?  Check.  Bubble and Squeak?  Check.  Toad in a Hole?  Check.  They were a veritable Encyclopaedia of Brit Food knowledge!  And I was so happy and satisfied.

I couldn’t believe how easy the recipe for Yorkshire Pudding was, but it does take a bit of trial and error to perfect it.  If you can, always make it from the pan drippings of your roast.  This will make it so much tastier, and since most times you take out your roast to let it rest, you just pour the pan juices back into another baking dish, or a muffin tin ( I prefer the individual ones, which Americans call popovers) and then raise the heat of your oven so your oil gets really hot, almost to the point of smoking and then add the batter directly to the hot oil.

Then you will get those glorious, puffed up morsels of heaven.  And mine last all of 10 minutes.  They are the first things to go at the dinner table, and it was no different yesterday, when my guests who had never tried them, finished them almost before we had finished the chicken.

So here’s what you’re going to need:

Makes 12 individual or one large pan:
1/2 cup drippings from your roast

140g Flour

4 eggs

200 ml of milk

salt and pepper to taste

Pre-heat your oven to 230 C (425 F).  Divide your drippings in your muffin tin, and place in the oven and heat up until to the point of almost smoking.

In the meantime, mix the flour, eggs, milk and salt and pepper until you have a smooth batter.  When the oil is really hot, add spoonfuls of the batter to the hot oil.  Don’t worry if it spatters and bubbles, that’s what you want to happen.

Bake for another 15-20 minutes, until golden brown and risen over the tops, hence the name “popovers”.

Serve and enjoy with lots of gravy! Or with your roast.  Or alone hidden in a closet so no one else can get any.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

2 comments on “The British Are Coming! The British Are Coming! Yorkshire Pudding

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Your British posts are making me laugh ;-)
    …and roast lamb. Really Yorkshire Pudding goes with roast beef and was originally placed underneath the meat to soak up the juices.

    • expatchef says:

      I know, but I will find any excuse to make the puds…..I don’t make roast beef as often, I have a severly picky daughter in the house that prefers chicken. I’m seriously craving some bread sauce lately! ;)

Leave a Reply

