Walnut and Feta Cheese Coins

Today is a holiday here.  It feels much more like Sunday than Monday.  We went to the beach, relaxed a bit and came back home lazy and warmed. Yet one of the things that relaxes me the most is baking.  So, I was on the hunt for an easy option, that didn’t require too much prep or cooking time.

As I have mentioned before, I am trying to use my cookbooks more often.  I looked at my shelf, and picked up my book of Greek food.  Leafing through the pages, I came across this recipe that seemed different, delicious yet super simple.

I liked the combination of walnuts and feta cheese, and after we tried them, even my daughter gave them the stamp of approval, and asked me incredulously, “Did you make these?”  It was a proud mama moment.  Mind you, she is very, very picky.  These will be great to serve with a glass of wine, and some cheese and grapes as an hors d’oeuvres.

I had to tweak the recipe a bit, as when I was making it I found the proportion of butter to flour to be too much.  So below you will find the revised recipe.

Adapted from: “Cocinas del Mundo.  Grecia”  By Susanna Tee

So here’s what you’re going to need:

40g Walnuts

230g flour

salt and pepper

115g butter

115g feta cheese

1 egg, beaten for the glaze

Preheat the oven to 190 celsius (375 F)

Place the walnuts in the food processor, and pulse until finely chopped.  I chopped mine by hand so I could get different sizes.  Place in a bowl and set aside.

Add your flour, salt and pepper to the food processor, and add the butter, chopped into squares.  Pulse until the mixture looks like coarse sand.  Add the crumbled feta, the walnuts and mix until you have a smooth dough.

On a clean work surface, dust with flour and place your dough.  With a rolling-pin, roll to about 1/2 inch thick.  Cut with a small biscuit cutter, about 2.5 inches.  Place on a baking sheet, glaze with the beaten egg.

Bake for 10-20 minutes, or until firm and golden brown.  Let cool on a wire rack.  Keep in an airtight container for 3-4 days. (If they last that long!)

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

3 comments on “Walnut and Feta Cheese Coins

  1. luvnorcal says:

    Looks delicious!! Would love to try these.

  2. [...] a gorgeous garlicky smell.  And I had some watermelon in the fridge and leftover Feta from those Feta and Walnut Cheese Coins I made a while back.  I have seen in all these magazines the birth of the watermelon salad.  [...]

Leave a Reply

