Tunisian Egg Brik with Sauteed Spinach, Mushrooms and Tomatoes

I was in Tunisia many, many moons ago.  I don’t remember much of Tunisian food, since I was staying with a Korean American family.  Actually, on that trip I learned how to make some amazing scrambled eggs from my friend Alexi Weden’s dad, and her gorgeous mother made me a Kimchee addict.  I remember seeing lots of goat carcasses hanging from hooks in the butcher stands on the side of the road, and one memorable dinner at Chez Nous, in Tunis.  I know for sure I did not have a brik, of any kind.

If you are not familiar with Brik, it kind of looks like a crepe, but it is crispier and lends itself to frying and baking quite easily.  The proper term for it is Malsouqa, but Brik is the tunisian derivative of the Turkish word Borek, which is basically a savory stuffed pastry.  Whichever way you decide to call it, it’s delicious.

A few nights ago at work, we did a dish using Brik pastry.  So, I thought, I have never, ever had Brik with egg.  And you know how I feel about eggs now.  So, I marched myself to the store and got a package of Brik, and today for lunch, made Brik a L’oeuf.  It is really really simple to make, and you can use whatever fillings you want.  I wanted a filling reminiscent of my Turkish/Egyptian/Syrian background, so I chose spinach and then a couple of spices that I brought back from Turkey on my last visit.  I looooooved my brik.  I think it will absolutely be a hit at the next dinner party, and with the spinach, mushrooms and fresh tomato, it gives you a vitamin packed punch, too.

So here is what you’re going to need for one person:

1 sheet of Brik pastry

1 egg, plus one egg yolk (if you don’t want a lot of yolk, just use one egg)

Egg white from one egg, lightly beaten

1 cup fresh spinach, chopped

2 cremini mushrooms, halved and sliced

1/4 tomato, chopped

1 shallot, sliced

1 garlic clove, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil, plus 1/4 cup for frying

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp aleppo pepper

1 tsp sumac

salt and pepper to taste

squeeze of lemon juice

In a medium saute pan over medium, add your 2 tbsp of olive oil.  Saute for 5 minutes, raise heat to high, and add your mushrooms.  Don’t worry if your shallot starts to brown.  Saute for about 5 minutes, or until your mushrooms are golden brown, then add your spinach and saute until wilted.  If you need to add a little bit more olive oil, by all means do.  Take off heat and add your spices, salt, pepper and squeeze of lemon.  Place into a bowl and let cool slightly.  In the meantime, in a large skillet, pour in your 1/4 cup oil and start heating it up over medium high heat.

Take your sheet of Brik and place on a clean work surface.

Place your spinach mixture in the center, spreading it out a little and make a well in the center for your egg.

Now add your whole egg plus the egg yolk.

Now start folding up the sides, and brush each side with your beaten egg yolk and press to seal.

Once it is all folded up and sealed, your oil should be hot enough.  Carefully lift with a wide spatula and place in the hot oil, and fry for about 3 minutes.

With another spatula, carefully flip it over, and fry on the other side, for another 3 minutes.  If you want your eggs less runny, then fry for 5 minutes, and so on and so forth.  When it is done, place on a plate with paper towels to soak up the excess oil.  Serve immediately.  Oh!  Don’t forget your bread to sop up all that delicious yolk.

Bon Appetit!

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

12 comments on “Tunisian Egg Brik with Sauteed Spinach, Mushrooms and Tomatoes

  1. chefconnie says:

    That looks fantastic.

  2. alexiweden says:

    Thanks Carla! Brought make many happy memories. I’m surprised you didn’t try it when you were there because I remember the chef used to make it…although I recall it had capers, egg, and tuna. Your recipe looks awesome. I’m going to send it toy father, as I’m sure he will want to make it. Miss you and love you. XO

  3. alexiweden says:

    Thanks Carla! Brought make many happy memories. I’m surprised you didn’t try it when you were there because I remember the chef used to make it…although I recall it had capers, egg, and tuna. Your recipe looks awesome. I’m going to send it toy father, as I’m sure he will want to make it. Miss you and love you. XO

  4. Love the look of that oozy egg and the crisp pastry & corners, it’s perfect! I heard of Brik pastry through Heston’s series when he made his ultimate cheese toastie! I’ve never seen it here in Aus but I definitely want to try and find it :)

    • expatchef says:

      It is so yummy, in my class I taught the students how to stuff it with cheese, sundried tomatoes and then roll it like a spring roll and served it with onion marmalade and a fried Basil leaf. And we baked it. Maybe you can try looking in a store that sells arabic food? Thank you for the lovely comments!

  5. Noel says:

    This looks awesome. I know I could make my own brik sheets in a jiffy, but I’m really lazy! Phyllo work as well?

  6. I love the presentation! Looks delish!

Leave a Reply

