Coconut French Toast with Strawberry Mint Syrup

I love french toast.  Unfortunately, I don’t make enough of it here, and it is almost impossible to find in restaurants, since in Barcelona breakfast usually consists of baguette with a measly slice of ham or cheese, or a croissant.

My daughter loves pancakes, and I am an egg fiend, so weekend breakfasts usually consist of that.  But this Saturday, pre-Ikea, my friend came over for brunch and I felt like something different.  But, I also wanted one of those syrups that I used to get at IHOP, you know the ridiculously good but fake versions of fruit syrups they have?  So I decided to make my own, and add a bit of mint since my little plant is overflowing.  And then I saw I had some grated coconut in my pantry….so voila!  The idea of Coconut French Toast sprung into my mind, with a strawberry mint syrup, and of course some fresh strawberries scattered on top.  The whole shebang is really easy to make, and your tummy will be all the happier for it!

So here is what you’ll need for 2 people:

Butter, for spreading and for the pan

8 slices plain white bread, if you have a thicker brioche you will only need 4

2 eggs, beaten

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup grated sweetened coconut

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

For the syrup:

1/2 cup sugar

16 strawberries, 8 hulled and cut in half, 8 hulled and sliced and reserved for topping

4 leaves of mint, cut in chiffonade

1.5 cups of water

Topping:

Maple syrup

Powdered sugar

Butter one side of all of your bread.  Then make a sandwich so you’ll have four thick slices.  Beat your eggs with the milk, coconut, cinnamon and vanilla extract.

In the meantime, in a medium heavy bottomed saucepan, place your 8 halved strawberries, sugar, mint and water and boil.  Lower the heat and let reduce for about 15 minutes.  Mash your strawberries, and reduce another 5, you want it to be a syrup consistency, not a jam.  Keep warm.

In a large non-stick skillet, melt a tbsp of butter over medium high heat, and wipe off with a paper towel.  Dip your bread in the coconut egg mixture, and fry for about 2-3 minutes, or until golden brown, flip and do the same on the other side.

Place on a plate, pour some of your strawberry mint syrup over the bread, place your fresh sliced strawberries on top, drizzle with maple syrup and top with some powdered sugar.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

2 comments on “Coconut French Toast with Strawberry Mint Syrup

  1. I want a bowl of strawberry mint syrup NOW! Sounds like it would go great with ice-cream too…yum

    • expatchef says:

      I think it could go well with almost anything……It was definitely delish…..I wish I had had more….but alas…my belly needs to stay the same size ;)

Leave a Reply

