Caramelized Onion and Corn Soup with Thyme

One of the things I miss most about living in the States is fresh corn.   Ok, ok, I miss a lot of food items that can be found in the States, be it fresh or fast or packaged.  But corn…..I love corn, in all ways, on the cob, creamed, canned, grilled, in chowder,  salads, salsa, as a tortilla, chip, arepa…..the list goes on and on.  It must be my Colombian heritage, because corn is in practically everything we eat.

In Barcelona, you can’t get good, fresh, corn.  I am sad.  I also don’t have a terrace with a barbecue, that makes me even sadder.  But, one thing that makes me happy is my itsy bitsy herb “garden”.  (I know it isn’t a garden, since it’s on my itsy bitsy balcony, but hey, a girl can dream right?)

So I decided, since the days are longer and warmer, to make a corn soup, to pay homage to my homeland.  The good ‘ole US of A.  Oh, and the whole my herb garden makes me happy bit is because I was staring at them and said, corn, thyme….YUM! Unfortunately it was this horrible packaged, pre-boiled corn, so if you can find fresh corn, then I am sure sure sure yours will be like a gazillion times better than mine.  Ok, it’s not that bad.  I just feel like complaining to the corn farmers here.

Anyhow, here is a nice and simple recipe that highlights one of my favorite ingredients, Corn!

Adapted from Food and Wine Magazine

Caramelized Onion and Corn Soup with Thyme

Serves 4

1.5 liters water

4 ears of corn, shucked

1.5 tbs butter

1 large onion, thinly sliced

1 tsp sugar

1 small potato, cut into small cubes

1/4 cup white wine

1 sprig of thyme, and more leaves for garnish

1/4 cup heavy cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Bring the water to boil in a large pot, and add the corn, cook around 5 minutes.  Cut the kernels off the cob once the corn has cooled.  Return the cobs to the water, cover and simmer for about 30 minutes.  Discard cobs and reserve the corn broth.

In another pot, melt 1 tbsp of the butter, and add the onions.  Cover and cook over med heat until they are softened, stirring occasionally, about 8 minutes.  Add the sugar and cook another 5 minutes, or until they are caramelized.

Reserve 1/2 cup of the corn kernels, and add the remaining kernels and potato to the pot with the onions.  Add the wine and simmer over medium high heat until almost evaporated.  Add the corn broth, thyme and heavy cream, cover and simmer until the potato is tender, about 10 minutes.

Discard thyme.  With an immersion blender, or regular, puree soup, and season with salt and pepper.

In a skillet, melt the remaining butter, and add the reserved corn and cook over med high heat, until nicely browned.  Season with salt and your reserved thyme leaves.  Ladle the soup in bowls or mugs, and top with the browned corn and thyme.

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

 

 

 

One comment on “Caramelized Onion and Corn Soup with Thyme

  1. [...] have professed my love for corn before.  So you can imagine how happy and excited I get to have this delicious cob, drenched with [...]

Leave a Reply

