Pancetta, Pear and Parmesan “Strudel”

 

 

Hello readers!

How was your weekend?  Mine was great, caught up with some friends who we hadn’t seen in 3 years, took them to a nice tapas restaurant, and then had some cocktails.  But anyhow, today I thought I would post an incredibly simple, yet ridiculously delicious cocktail dish or starter.  I made this a couple of weeks ago for a dinner party, and it was a hit.  So much so that I took an initial picture of it when I cut it open, but then I arranged the slices on a plate and put it on the table, went to get my camera….and *poof*.  They were gone.  Not all of them, because I had one, but the picture would have looked terrible.  So I only have the one picture that I don’t think does it any justice, but I think that by the ingredients you know it’s going to be good.  So go ahead and try it the next time you have guests over.  Or not.  You can definitely make it any time, since it is so easy.  So here goes!

Pancetta, Pear and Parmesan Strudel

1 package of Filo dough

3 Concorde pears, peeled and cut into match sticks

150 g of Pancetta

50 g Walnuts, coarsely chopped

60g of Parmesan cheese, grated

Salt and pepper to taste

2 tbsp of olive oil

4 tbsp of butter, melted

Poppy seeds for garnish

Pre-heat your oven to 350 deg F (180 C).  On your baking sheet, lay out your filo dough.  Start by placing the pancetta over the filo, overlapping the slices.  Then scatter the nuts over the pancetta.  Scatter the pears and parmesan, add the salt and pepper and drizzle your olive oil over the whole thing.

Roll it into a log, making sure that you seal the edges.  Brush the melted butter over the whole log, and sprinkle with poppy seeds.

Before you place it into the oven, it is incredibly useful if you cut the slices prior to cooking, cutting almost all the way through, but leave it intact on the bottom.  If not when it’s cooked and crispy, it will be almost impossible for you to cut it without losing half of the filo.  Trust me, I’ve tried it and cried.

Bake for 35-40 minutes, until it is gold and crispy.  Take it out of the oven and let it cool for about 20 minutes before serving, as it gets cooler the flavors meld together and it is delicious!

From my kitchen to yours,

Carla

2 comments on “Pancetta, Pear and Parmesan “Strudel”

  1. The combination sounds perfect, I love ham/cured meats with sweet flavours and pear & pancetta definitely sounds like a go in my book!

    • expatchef says:

      Thanks! I also love these flavor combinations, and it was so dang easy to make! Can’t wait to try other combinations at my next dinner party! Hope you get to try and make it too!

Leave a Reply

